24-hour Hotline 2926 4111

Universal Accessibility (UA) Projects

Details of UA Programme

The Government has been installing barrier-free access facilities at public walkways1 and launched the “Universal Accessibility” (UA) Programme in August 2012 to proactively provide more barrier-free access facilities (i.e. lifts and ramps) to enhance the convenience of the public in using public walkways.

In order to benefit more people, since the launch of the UA Programme in 2012, the scope of the UA Programme has been expanded with a view to covering more walkways. Initially, the UA programme only covered public walkways maintained by the Highways Department (HyD) which are not equipped with any barrier-free access facilities. Since then, the scope of the UA Programme has been expanded to cover existing public walkways2 which already have standard ramps, provided that certain criteria3 are met and no land resumption would be involved to ensure the proper use of public funds.

In response to public demand, the Government announced in 2019 that a Special Scheme would be launched under the UA Programme to retrofit lifts at footbridges, subways and elevated walkways of the following three types of housing estates under the Hong Kong Housing Authority (HA), namely estates under the Tenants Purchase Scheme and the Buy or Rent Option Scheme, and public rental housing estates with properties divested, provided that certain criteria are met4.

The Government is pressing ahead with the implementation of a total of 402 items under various phases of the UA Programme. As at 31 December 2021, 179 items were completed and 93 items were under construction. Construction for the remaining 130 items will commence as soon as possible upon completion of detailed design and other related works.

Moreover, the Highways Department has completed the preliminary technical feasibility studies of items included into the Special Scheme and has commenced the investigation and design works of the Special Scheme in end 2021.

More information can be found in the project website.

Photos for UA Prorgamme




  • 1. They refer to public footbridges, elevated walkways and subways maintained by the Highways Department.
  • 2. They are not confined to public walkways maintained by the HyD.
  • 3. The relevant criteria include -
    • (a) the walkways span across public roads maintained by the HyD;
      (b) they are open for public access from public roads at all times;
      (c) the walkways are not privately owned; and
      (d) the parties responsible for the management and maintenance of these walkways agree to such lift retrofitting proposals and are willing to cooperate with the Government during the implementation of the said lift retrofitting works as well as the subsequent management and maintenance works of the lifts.
  • 4. Lift retrofitting items under the Special Scheme could only be taken forward provided that the relevant owner(s) or parties responsible for the management of the concerned land/walkways agree to such lift retrofitting proposals and are willing to cooperate with the Government in subsequent management and maintenance of the lifts, and that no land resumption would be involved.

24小時熱線 2926 4111

「人人暢道通行」計劃

「人人暢道通行」計劃內容

政府一直致力為公共行人通道1加建無障礙通道設施,於2012年8月推出「人人暢道通行」計劃,積極增設更多無障礙通道設施(即升降機及斜道),方便市民上落公共行人通道。

為令更多市民受惠,自「人人暢道通行」計劃在2012年推出以來,政府已擴展計劃範疇,以期涵蓋更多行人通道。初期計劃只涵蓋由路政署維修及保養且完全未配備任何無障礙設施的公共行人通道。及後,計劃的範疇已擴展至已裝設標準斜道的現有公共行人通道2,惟需符合特定條件3,而且有關加建工程需不涉及收地,以確保公帑用得其所。

因應社會要求,政府於2019年宣布在「人人暢道通行」計劃下推展一項「特別計劃」,在符合特定條件的情況下4為香港房屋委員會(房委會)轄下租者置其屋計劃、可租可買計劃屋邨和已拆售物業的公共屋邨的行人天橋、行人隧道和高架行人道加建升降機。

政府繼續全力推動「人人暢道通行」計劃下在各階段的402個項目。截至2021年12月31日,當中179個項目已經完成,另有93個項目正在施工,餘下的130個項目在完成詳細設計及其他相關工作後會盡快開始施工。

此外,政府已為「特別計劃」下的選定項目完成技術可行性研究,並已於2021年底展開勘測和設計工作。

有關「人人暢道通行」計劃資料可以瀏覽項目網站

「人人暢道通行」計劃相片



  • 1. 即由路政署負責維修及保養的公共行人天橋、高架行人道和行人隧道。
  • 2. 不再局限於由路政署負責維修及保養的公共行人通道。
  • 3. 有關條件包括 –
    • (a) 行人通道橫跨由路政署負責維修及保養的公共道路;
      (b) 市民可以在任何時間從公共道路進入這些行人通道;
      (c) 該等行人通道須不屬私人擁有;以及
      (d) 現時負責管理和維修該等行人通道的人士或機構同意這些加建升降機設施的建議,並願意在加建升降機設施工程、其後就升降機設施的管理和維修工程進行期間與政府合作。
  • 4. 「特別計劃」下的加建升降機項目需要獲得有關業權人或現時負責管理有關土地/行人通道的人士或機構同意,並表明願意其後就升降機設施的管理和相關維修工作與政府合作,而有關加建工程在不涉及收地的前提下,方能推展。